CLOSED: Sote- the IDEAL cinema snack

Sote (salt of the Earth) is definitely a familiar and well liked brand in Hong Kong for their locally made, all natural popcorn with a vast array of flavours. There is something for everyone, if you have a sweet tooth, prefer something salty or if you are in between.

I headed on over to Causeway Bay to see Fantastic Beasts at MCL, but before then I had to pop into Hysan Place to grab some cinema snacks before the screening. To my delight, Sote now has Christmas flavours to really get in you in the festive mood.

One thing I love is trying all the exciting and different flavours in the store.

20161202_190039.jpg

Of the salty popcorn flavours, I liked ‘The Kick’ the most as it as the name suggests has a dash of lime to give it an edge. I personally found ‘the Blaze’ too spicy which would absolutely make me reach for my drink one too many times during a movie and ‘the Lean’ too bland with some hints of basil but not enough for me.

I guess I have too much of a sweet tooth as I ended up going for one of their seasonal and sweet Christmas flavours. Merry Mint (peppermint with crushed candy cane) was a little too sweet for my taste, but ‘the Gingerbell’ really hit the spot and made me reminisce about all those Gingerbread lattes I used to have in Starbucks.

20161202_185919.jpg

I should mention that the sales assistant was very patient allowing me to try quite a few flavours and gave me extra wet wipes which came in very handy.

Verdict: A trip to Sote is a guilty pleasure that should be indulged in sparingly as their smallest size comes in at 45 HKD. However, for a special cinema snack, Sote is the perfect pre-screen destination and with so many long awaited movies in December, this is the perfect accompaniment. For the more adventurous, try ‘the Islander’ (Sweet curry with a wave of coconut) and ‘the Cha Cha’ (Hong Kong style Milk Tea ) flavours. They also make great stocking fillers!

Nisha

Hysan Place 10F (eslite), 500 Hennessy Rd, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong

http://sotehk.com/

Leave a Reply

