Foodbox quantity over quality?

Lunchtime hunger pangs and indecisiveness are something we regularly experience. To alleviate my pangs today, I headed to Bonham Strand in search of something new to munch on. Foodbox is a takeaway only joint that serves up sandwiches, salads and soups.

As soon as I arrived, I noticed a heavy influx of male only customers appearing at the door. I ordered a sandwich which I was told includes a homemade soup of the day for a reasonable 78 HKD.

I didn’t wait long at all but was given a humongous box and quickly realized why there weren’t any female customers in sight- this thing was quite intimidating and when I arrived at the office, my colleague thought I ordered a whole chicken!

Nervously, I opened the container and drank the minestrone soup. Although advertised as homemade, it was regrettably over salted, almost like a canned soup despite having a lot of veggies. Very disappointing!

The coleslaw was less salted but quite uninteresting in taste, forgettable really.

Finally, the sandwich portion is VERY generous, two big slices of wheat bread with a thick layer of lettuce, tomato, cheese and avocado. This definitely appeared and tasted homemade, unfortunately the bread was dry almost to the point of stale and tasted processed. Overall, the sandwich lacked any flavour.

20161012_130032.jpg

Verdict: Although I can see how the portion sizes and value attract the lunchtime crowd, I would rather go for a QUALITY sandwich from Knead around the corner.

Nisha

14 Bonham Strand, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong Ph: 852 2907 1988

Leave a Reply

